Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone Deluxe tuners instead of Wilkinson Deluxe?

Orionator

Hello! This is my first time posting on this forum. I'll make it quick and get right to it:

I recently bought an Epiphone G400 PRO that was advertised to have Wilkinson Vintage tuners. As you can see from the pictures, the tuners say Wilkinson Deluxe on the back. Now, when I received my guitar, I noticed that the back of my tuners said "Epiphone" Deluxe (image attached).

I contacted Gibson support (and what a pain that was), and I was told that sometimes legitimate brands (such as Wilkinson) will "re-brand" their products when making them for specific instruments.

Is this something I should be concerned about? Everything else on the guitar is near-perfect. Aside from some high frets, the guitar plays really, really well and sounds amazing.

Thanks! :)

EDIT: Pictures of the new ax were requested, so here they are :).

Hello! This is my first time posting on this forum. I'll make it quick and get right to it:

I recently bought an Epiphone G400 PRO that was advertised to have Wilkinson Vintage tuners. As you can see from the pictures, the tuners say Wilkinson Deluxe on the back. Now, when I received my guitar, I noticed that the back of my tuners said "Epiphone" Deluxe (image attached).

I contacted Gibson support (and what a pain that was), and I was told that sometimes legitimate brands (such as Wilkinson) will "re-brand" their products when making them for specific instruments.

Is this something I should be concerned about? Everything else on the guitar is near-perfect. Aside from some high frets, the guitar plays really, really well and sounds amazing.

Thanks! :)

I wouldn't worry about it. Epiphone is always changing details like this (most of the time to stamp Epiphone on it). chances are they will all have the Epiphone Deluxe tuners here forward.

It's very possible the tuners are the same exact tuners, but just branded differently.