Gibson Brands Forums

Amp Covers

NHTom

So one of my big pet peeves is when dust builds up in tolex. None of my gear are "wall hangers" or as they say with motorcycles "trailer queens", but I like to keep my stuff looking decent. I don't baby my guitars, but I'll also wipe down a guitar full of nicks and dings...just my ocd kicking in.

Well, most amp companies make head covers and cab covers to keep the dust off. My problem with these is that they are separate parts. Therefore if you want to put the cab cover on, you have to remove the head, then put the head back and cover that.

Problem solved. I work in the marina/snowmobile business, so I had our canvas guy make me covers for my amps. They are just dust covers.........not form fit or anything. Only measured by overall length/width/height.

The material is what is used on boat tops, so it is just stiff enough that you can slide if off the amp in one pull and partially holds its shape so it slides back on like a sleeve.

101_1322_zpsjk8osvn5.jpg

For me, they do exactly what I need and don't cost a fortune like many of the OEM ones.

NHTom

Whatever it takes, and whatever works.

I have a Fishman Loudbox Mini that not only fits perfectly into a Sterilite storage bin with handles, but at the gig it doubles as the stand as well. It's waterproof, stows nicely in my 'vault' when not in use, and cost under twenty bucks to boot.

Whatever it takes, and whatever works.

I have a Fishman Loudbox Mini that not only fits perfectly into a Sterilite storage bin with handles, but at the gig it doubles as the stand as well. It's waterproof, stows nicely in my 'vault' when not in use, and cost under twenty bucks to boot.

Perfect!

NHTom

it's not as OCD as you would kid yourself to thinking.

Those covers will keep away the dust, and,, even some % of unwanted moisture depending on time of year.

I cover my stuff when we're dong jamming, takes a second to throw the sheets I use over them.