Gibson Brands Forums

Gibsons Rock!!

aDeptLefterz

Then again, everyone here already knew that...

Anyway, I wound up here whilst looking for information on guitar setup and maintenance.

I've been playing for about 25 years. For some reason, it seemed like a good idea to play lefty at the time. Music in general is already backwards and upside down and intended for right-handed orientation. As smart as I think I am, to this day, trying to learn new **** makes my brain hurt.

Though about 6 months ago, after what had been years of plateaued off and on, playing a handful of songs about a million times each, I had a breakthrough... kinda...

One night in the middle of June (2022), a brilliant idea struck me - throw on some super slow blues backing tracks and see what happens... at first, it was okay - maybe almost good - better and more fun than playing the same old **** day in and day out... (did I mention I LOVE PLAYING GUITARS!?!)

Then there were a few practice sessions that blew me away. (These days I record all practice sessions with my phone.) There's a place we go sometimes, where there is little to no thought, pure clarity, and feeling - some might call it being in "The Zone"... I don't know what to call it, but for the last 6-7 months, I've been learning, struggling, searching, praying - to figure out how to get to that place at will. It's such an amazing feeling, and when I'm there, I know I'm there... and it's effortless to play and it sounds amazing... (so I've been told)... I know that I am getting better and myself says to myself "just keep playing, just keep playing..." (x1000)