Gibson Brands Forums

74/75 ES335 Refinish?

ZacC

So I picked up this Norlin ES-335 a few months back and have been debating wether it’s been refinished at some point in its life or not. The finish looks pretty original to me, but I am no expert. The only thing that’s making me think that it has had a refinish is the fact theres slight red overspray in the F holes. Reading another forum apparently this is one of the stick on signs it’s had a refinish at some stage, as 335 never should come with any paint in the body. I believe Cherry 335s also need sanding if they are to be refinished and the binding still has a ‘lip’ between the body and the binding, which suggests it hasn’t been sanded as it would be smooth and thus is the original finish. It is a Norlin so I wouldn’t be too surprised if this is factory overspray. Have attached some photos I’ve taken as-well as those on the listing when I bought it. 

https://imgur.com/a/262J8iw

Thanks!

24 minutes ago, merciful-evans said:

I see what you mean, though that does look like Gibson wine red & lacquer. The red on the f-hole side supports the refinish theory. It looks a good job though.

Its a tidy looking guitar nevertheless. 

Let me imbed those pics

ynx1JS1.jpeg

zsCbRx0.jpeg

OzAF5uI.jpeg

ncgj1h7.jpeg

9tWiSQR.jpeg

Definitely a cracking job if it has been refinished. I bought this from a reputable guitar shop/dealer in America and had it shipped over to me in the UK. It was advertised as original and as such I paid full price for it (one of the reasons I bought from a reputable shop and not a private seller).  It’s a dream guitar for me and not one I will ever probably look at selling. Just a bit worried if for whatever reason I needed to part with it, I would end up loosing a substantial amount as it’s not the original finish as was advertised when I bought it. Suppose that’s sometimes the risk you run without seeing it in the flesh first. 

Edited by ZacC