Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul newbie

schizophrenica

Hie everyone, I'm new in this forums and I have almost no experience with a Les Paul. I just got a Epi Les Paul Special II recently and I have some questions. I've been playing for 9 years and I've never played a les paul before, but I've always liked the look of it and everyone says it can play a get range of music. I would've gotten a LP standard but i'm still studying(limited cash) and this is my first electric guitar.

I'd like to know if I can install pickguards on the LP Special II? And does anyone keep the stock humbuckers that came along with it? I'm not a big fan of open coil humbuckers and I own a dog that sheds fur a lot. Any tips and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Congrats on your new guitar. If you are looking for epi humbuckers with covers then I am sure you could pick up a set real cheap on ebay. Alot of guys will replace them with Gibsons, Fralins, Duncans or another name brand in an attempt to get a better sound. If you are simply wanting covers on yours, then you can purchase covers for a few bucks each and solder them on yourself. Lots of websites have them including www.stewmac.com. Just make sure you get the right ones. Good luck

Thanks for the info.. Getting a cover seems more cost effective than getting new pickups.(If I had the cash for better pickups I might have as well got an LP standard).

Browsing the forums I found out that I have to drill holes to attach a pickguard? Is this true? Seems a shame to do so.

Thanks for the info.. Getting a cover seems more cost effective than getting new pickups.(If I had the cash for better pickups I might have as well got an LP standard).

Browsing the forums I found out that I have to drill holes to attach a pickguard? Is this true? Seems a shame to do so.