Gibson Brands Forums

Social Distortion

Chuck Biscuits has the best rock star name ever. I cracked up the first time I heard of him when he was playing with Black Flag.

He is also one of the greatest rock drummers that no one ever talks about.

And Black Flag drummers? How spoiled can you be. Both Biscuits and Bill Stevenson are legends.

I got to see Stevenson play with Black Flag a number of times. First time I ever saw Black Flag was when I was an intern at a live sound company and we did a show for them at some club in NJ that was (is?) called New York South and I became an instant fan. One of the most intense bands I have ever seen in my life.

Having grown up in Orange County, Social D was one of my mainstays growing up.

Seen them many times. Met mike too.

I once took a picture of Mike at the KROQ Weenie Roast where he was wearing a wife beater, Dickies, Rayban sunglasses, playing his '56RI Les Paul and was screaming into an SM-58 mic. Right behind him Chuck Biscuits was banging away on the drums. The photograph captured Chucks wild hair flying across his face. The paper I was working for put it on the front page of the entertainment section. Awesome photograph. Wish I would have been able to get the negative for that. Not exactly a thousand words but you get the picture.

Anyway, incredible band, great music.

I got to see Stevenson play with Black Flag a number of times. First time I ever saw Black Flag was when I was an intern at a live sound company and we did a show for them at some club in NJ that was (is?) called New York South and I became an instant fan. One of the most intense bands I have ever seen in my life.

A little before my time and under my radar until late high school (try growing up a greeky white kid in rural Michigan), but from what I have read the Rollins area Black Flag was insane. A lot of fights breaking out at shows and Rollins punching more than a few audience members.

Why didn't you end up with the negative?