Gibson Brands Forums

Need help... SERIOUS business D:

Shadowhuntxx

Ok, there was a plastic wrapper stuck under the screw near my pickup, little did i know it was the one that holds it up.... I unscrewed it and now my whole pickup went down there... HELP D: im so screwed if my parents find out, its a SG special faded btw.

Heres some pics

IMAG0032.jpg

IMAG0033.jpg

SOME MORE INFO

I am a noob at all this technical guitar stuff... i just play, today was the first time i ever touched a screw on a guitar :-

HELP D:

Not an SG guy, but as was previously posted, can you get the lose end of the humbucker elevated enough the rescrew in the adjustment screw?

The humbucker has a tab at each end with a threaded hole.

humbucker.jpg

Like in this picture.

An adjustment screw (2 total) goes through the pickguard and into this hole. By threading it in or out, the height of the HB changes. So, tip the HB up somehow, like with your fingers, and use a screwdriver (philips?) to get the screw to thread back in (righty tighty).

Ahh - there's supposed to be a spring on the screw, beneath the pickguard and above the HB tab...

Like in this picture...

install2v.jpg

Is there one loose in the pickup cavity?

So get that spring out and into place on the screw - is it possible to do all that w/o taking it apart? (removing strings and pickguard off)

Yeah you will have to take the pick guard off because the spring likes to pop off at an angle when you disengage the screw.

So take the strings off and git-r-done. Next time if you would like the head of the screw to rise you must hold the pick up in place as you turn it.

Just playin dude. Remove the strings, unscrew the bridge and the pickguard screws. Fix up the spring and put everything back together. Be sure to remember where your bridge is postitioned so you can put it back to the way you want. Its really no big deal. I'm sure your parents will understand