Gibson Brands Forums

G'day eh?

laristotle

Newbie here. Been browsing for a bit and found a lot

of useful info. Figure I might as well join. I have a few

guit's in my kennel including '92 Joe Pass II (samick).

It's my only Epi (I did have a 12 string in the late 70's,

but the neck was so warped I turned it into a planter).

Anywho.. I love the feel of my JP. The electronics/hardware

is why I'm here.

Pup's - So many choices out there. SD's, GFS, Gibby..etc.

Basically looking for bluesy-rock sound with just

the right feedback control, ala Sweaty Teddy (Nuge).

Bridge - ABS, roller, compensated?

Wiring - RS kits, Gibby, OEM..?

Tuners - Grovers vs Klussons or ?

I'm not to concerned about original parts (all my guit's are

players and they look it too). Any input is greatly appreciated.

Ciao fer now. bluestwo.gif

Pickups are a subjective thing, but I must say, seeing your avatar brought back some fond memories for me. I used to have quite a few Freak Brothers comix, them and Mr. Natural (R. Crumb), Shuman the Human, wow, thanks for the memories.

Edit: I'd go for them Grovers If'n it was me, the ones on the blue guitar pictured below are way better than the Gibson tuners on a Goldtop I recently sold. Them Grovers never go outta tune.

Tnx y'all. I grew up on Rip Off Press comics.

Well..any comic really. I'm sorta leaning to

the Grovers (mind you, anything I do will

probably be on the low budget. My wife has

better things to spend my money on after all).

Age? ha! I'm 19 with 27 yrs experience hat-man.gif

BTW..how do you set up a sig here?