Gibson Brands Forums

DR-500M

Gman214

I am a beginner and I just purchased a DR-500M online for my first guitar. I was wondering if the set up is usually good on these guitars? Also what kind of strings usually come on this guitar? Should I go ahead and restring the guitar or wait until needed. What strings do you suggest? Any other comments about this guitar would be appreciated. Thanks!

i wish i started on a dr500m .. lol .. lucky .. the setup usually comes good from the factory .. you will need 2 change the strings right away .. the ones that come on it are dull and crappy .. i suggest elixer nanowebs phosphor bronze lights .. they are what i use on my dr500r .. also when you change your strings .. if you want .. you can take out your saddle and take out the shim under it and replace your saddle and your action will be nice and low .. good luck .. keep practicing

Hi -

When I purchased my DR-500M, the dealer let me try 8 guitars fresh out of their respective shipping cartons. Each set-up was slightly different, but not significantly. I selected one that did not require additional set-up. I was advised by Epiphone/Gibson that Masterbilts are shipped with Gibson Masterbuilt Strings, .012-.052 (see previous posts). I recently restrung with the Gibson's as I believe the sound is just terrific.....it's one of the reasons I bought the DR-500M, although I considered John Pearse strings. I don't believe my guitar sounded "dull & crappy" when new.

Regards

Hi -