Gibson Brands Forums

New to guitar

dbramsey

Hi,

I am just starting to learn guitar after all these years. I am looking to buy a good beginners guitar to learn on. I would like to learn classic rock. Any way, my question is, Would a Epiphone Les Paul, (Special II, Studio, 100) give me the sound that i am looking for? I have a Kustom 12a amp that was given to me so I am looking for something to learn on. Also, I am learning guitar because it is something that I have wanted to do all my life, and now that I am retired, I have the time to learn.

Thanks,

David

Guest alanhindle

An Epiphone Les Paul or an epiphone SG would be a great starter guitar for rock. However, I would try to save up a bit more and go for a model with a set (glued) neck rather than a bolted neck as you will get better tone and sustain and these would be worthy of any future upgrades if that's your thing. If you wanted to gig at some point, the Epis with set necks are considered by most to be 'gigable'. The models you are looking at would be the Les Paul studio and the SG G400. If you want to go up a bit more and have a Les Paul with cream plastic binding to the fretboard edge and body edge and a nice flame maple veneer top an Epi Les Paul Standard Plus is a very nice looking 'Gibson Les Paul Standard copy at around one fifth of the price. I should know, I have one and I still can't take my eyes off it.

Alan

I've had the special II here, the lp100 and the G310.

I own an epi lp studio, and a sheraton.

For a long time I've said the special II is pretty darn nice for the money.

I have no qualms at all about saying it's worth having, and will do the job.

It's inexpensive, but well made. The necks are fast, the fretwork is very good, and the basic sound look playability are all

top notch in that price range.

A retired guy would get a bit more later on selling it off, too.. 'cause we old farts take care of our stuff.