Gibson Brands Forums

Opinions and Info needed...please

bigtufguy

Hey everyone,

I have to Epis. One Hummingbird and an EL-00. I am thinking of replacing the saddles and bridge pins to bone. I have read here that this will improve the overall sound of the guitar. While this is indeed part of the reason I am considering this, I also just plain don't like the cheapo plastic saddles and pins that come on these nice guitars. I have NO knowledge of how to do this myself (though I have been to www.guitarsaddles.com and it doesn't look TOO difficult a task). I called my local guitar shop this afternoon and spoke with the owner. He has bone there to make the saddles if he cannot find direct replacements but, he suggested NOT using bone for the bridge pins. He said that bone is brittle and that brass would be a better substitute and also that the brass would help with the guitars sustain. I had never heard of this. My question is this..Has anyone else ever heard of this, is this common..?, and I'd like to hear some opinions on this from some people with more experience than myself. So, please post away. I look forward to your replies. As always..thank you in advance for all of your help and taking the time to reply.