Gibson Brands Forums

Which Masterbilt Guitar should I choose for my next acoustic purchase?

vang0341

I have been researching about the masterbilt series and would like to gather some information and suggestions on which specific guitar to buy. I am a beginner in acoustic playing and currently I am interested in fingerstyle music (Andy Mckee, Antoine Dufour, General classical music etc Doyle Dykes With or without you to be more specific :P ). I have narrowed my interest into Two different masterbilt which are EF-500M or EF-500R (EF-500RA if I can afford).

I can not come to the decision to go with either Rosewood or Mahogany for the back and sides. This is what I've found out regarding these woods. Mahogany over time will sound sharper when notes are being played and a bit warm. Rosewood will have a more sustaining sound and midrange clarity. I've gather some opinions from other communities and have summed up this, for smaller bodied acoustics, rosewood is preferred, but bigger Bodies (DR) mahogany is the way to go. This could just be more of a personal preference.

If I can afford both, I would buy both :D/ . These two guitars from what I've heard are awesome for the price. Please feel free to post any feedback on these guitars and your experience with them. And also please do suggest other guitars. Does these guitar come with Grover Tunings?

Thank You.

I own an EF500-R and love it. Choosing a tonewood depends on what kind of music you play and how.

As a rule of thumb though, I'd say that if you play alone, rosewood rules. However, if you play with others a lot, mahogany cuts through and sounds more prominent.

Your mileage may vary.

I have been researching about the masterbilt series and would like to gather some information and suggestions on which specific guitar to buy. I have narrowed my interest into Two different masterbilt which are EF-500M or EF-500R (EF-500RA if I can afford). ...also please do suggest other guitars. Thank You.