Gibson Brands Forums

New SG G400 and new pickups?

acisler

Hey all,

I just picked up a new Epi SG G 400 in Faded Cherry and I am really enjoying playing her and the quality is a world apart from my old Jay Turser knock off LP. I'm wanting to do some work on it, however. I'm thinking some new pickups may be in order, just something to set it apart a little more and maybe have it approach some of the more traditional Gibson sound, the current pups feel a bit muddy and could stand to be more hot.

I'm playing mostly classic rock up to some modern rock with some metal thrown in for good measures. I'm still learning the pickup scene and was looking at the Angus Young pickup and burstbucker pros but I'm still a little unclear of the differences in tones between these and other pickups. Can anyone shed some light on this or is there some resource that shows off the differences?

Hey all' date='

I just picked up a new Epi SG G 400 in Faded Cherry and I am really enjoying playing her and the quality is a world apart from my old Jay Turser knock off LP. I'm wanting to do some work on it, however. I'm thinking some new pickups may be in order, just something to set it apart a little more and maybe have it approach some of the more traditional Gibson sound, the current pups feel a bit muddy and could stand to be more hot.

I'm playing mostly classic rock up to some modern rock with some metal thrown in for good measures. I'm still learning the pickup scene and was looking at the Angus Young pickup and burstbucker pros but I'm still a little unclear of the differences in tones between these and other pickups. Can anyone shed some light on this or is there some resource that shows off the differences?

[/quote']