Gibson Brands Forums

Hummingbird vrs. masterbuilt

ABS7

I am new to this fourm. I found it by goolging Epiphone hummingbird and dove acoustic guitars. I have wanted a hummingbird or a dove for a while and wanted to know which one people thought was the better of the two. After reading the threads on this topic most thought there wasn't much difference other than the wood. As far as sound they were about the same. Then someone mentioned a masterbuilt. Now I dont know what I want. Just looking to spend around 300 to 350. I have just started playing and I don't play well at all. I want a guitar that is easy on the fingers and will last me for quite some time. I would like to stay with Epiphone. If I were to get a masterbuilt what model would anyone recommend?

Thanks for your time. ABS7

If you go the masterbuilt route, then I would look for a DR-500R. The DR is the standard dreadnaught, and the R is rosewood back and sides. Most claim that it gives deeper bass. The wood is much more beautiful than mahogany, if you ask me. You won't find a Masterbuilt new for $350, so if that is your budget, then look for a used one, or get the Hummingbird. The Dove is maple back and sides, and is a brighter guitar. I would go for a Humminbird Artist, unless you need all the bling, but you save $100. And you could get a bone nut and saddle, rosewood bridge pins, and new strings for the difference and pay someone to install and set it up for you, and you would have a better sounding instrument for the $350.

I have just started playing and I don't play well at all. I want a guitar that is easy on the fingers and will last me for quite some time. I would like to stay with Epiphone.

Hi ABS7,