Gibson Brands Forums

Elitist Country Deluxe - Any owner stories?

EPIDEN

The Elitist Country Deluxe looks like a great guitar based on the Chet Akins Country Gentleman. I have a chance to acquire one in a trade, but thought I see what the consensus is on this guitar.

25.5: scale 1.75" width at nut, I can imagine it must be a boomer!

Any owners out there with an opinion? Even better, anyone play this model AND a Emperor Swingster with the 24.75 scale and slightly thinner neck? If so, thoughts on feel and sound.

I have the Chet Atkins which is the exact same guitar except for the label and truss rod cover. I'm not that good at describing guitar tones and such. I can tell you the build quality is top notch, and the orange flame is stunning to see in person. I have all my guitars hanging on the wall and anyone that looks at my guitars (players and non-players) always comments on it. I also have an Elitist 335 and a Gibson 355. Both the Elitists are pretty close in quality to the Gibson. I only gigged once with the Chet because I don't want to scratch it up. It worked as well as any humbucker equipped guitar I have gigged with and to my surprise even sounded great with classic rock type distortion. The wider nut took me a little getting used to but was fine after playing for a while. Although it looks like a Gretsch, it is not twangy and doesn't sound anything like a Gretsch.

There was a review of the Country Deluxe in Guitar Player magazine a few years ago. You can find it easily with a Google search.

Thanks SG and Gunner.

Gunner, I am going to spend some time with it tomorrow. I did find that review, thanks. It gave me even more Gas. Incidentally, I figure it will cost me an equivalent of $1,400+/- to acquire it. Seeing these were selling in the $1800-1,900 range at retail, it seems like a fair deal. Now I just have to see if in fact the Country Deluxe Elitist is my cup of tea when I play it for an extended period tomorrow.