Gibson Brands Forums

Should have left well enough alone...broken saddle screw

dwe82

EDIT: I just ordered a new bridge, so won't be needing to worry about screws anymore, so problem solved. Figure if I'm gonna fix it, might as well fix it right and get a better quality bridge. Thanks so much for all the advice everyone! :-)

Ok, apparently when I woke up this past Monday morning I decided "This is going to be the week I do everything I can to screw up my 15 year old Sheraton!"

A couple nights ago I started playing around with the bridge pickup and it sounded like crap afterwards. After panic mode, the next day I was able to set it back to approximately where it was (thanks to some help from a gentlemen who answered one of my other posts).

So then last night I decided my intonation wasn't good enough. So I went about trying to adjust the intonation on the high E string.

Just my luck...I broke the head off the saddle screw. :-(

So my question is this....since my Sheraton is a 1995 Samick / Korea model, I think it has a different bridge than most Gibsons right? My bridge seems to be identical to this one... http://store.guitarfetish.com/labutustgobr.html

Long story short....I need a replacement screw for a 1995 bridge that apparently they don't manufacture anymore. I really don't want to replace the entire bridge, just looking for a replacement screw or a set of new screws. Will modern Gibson or Epi screws fit, or am I.......get ready for the pun....."screwed"? (worth wating for wasn't it?)

Ah I have to laugh so I won't cry....I should have taken it to someone that knows what they're doing, instead of trying to be an amateur Les Paul wannabe and tinkering with everything myself.

This may be obvious' date=' but did you loosen the string(s) before trying to adjust the saddle?[/quote']

My immediate thought, also. I always De-tune string before making

any intonation adjustments. Then tune up, re-check, repeat as needed.