Gibson Brands Forums

epi-les paul std

SilverBlade

I live in greece and I am a beginner guitar player(nearly 1 year experience)!

I bought about 2 months ago an epiphone les paul standard desertburst via internet.

at the beginning i was dissapointed because the guitar was buzzing like crazy! i spent about 100 euros more for some set-ups.

now the guitar is a little bit better but still makes the buzz sound:-S... i asked some friends of mine(who play the guitar) and said to me that the neck has a back-bow.Can i go the guitar back?and how can this happen ?

P.S. I apologise for my bad english...

and please help me

SilverBlade,

Welcome to the forum!

Backbow will cause fret buzz. A good set up should have solved it. If the truss rod is working properly the person doing the set up should have taken care of it. Take it back to him and explain the problem. He should take care of it at no extra charge.

If you care to try it yourself there are a number of good articles in the DIY thread at the top of the Epi Lounge .

When adjusting truss rod, loosen strings, remember no more than 1/8 turn at a time. Re-tune. Let it sit for a few hours. Readjust if need be. No more than 1/4 turn in any given 24 hour period. The truss rod should turn easily.

If not seek a professional.

Willy

Did he adjust the truss rod? If so, was he unable to get it adjusted properly? Heating up the neck is not a normal practice in setting up a guitar and would be considered a very extreme measure.

Did you buy this guitar new? If the truss rod won't take the bow out and it is still under warranty I would contact the seller about returning it.

Did he adjust the truss rod? If so, was he unable to get it adjusted properly? Heating up the neck is not a normal practice in setting up a guitar and would be considered a very extreme measure.

Did you buy this guitar new? If the truss rod won't take the bow out and it is still under warranty I would contact the seller about returning it.