Gibson Brands Forums

Queen - Son and Daughter (Rainbow March, 1974)

Twiz

I'm only 30 but I've been listening to Queen since 1991, right before Freddy died. They were my first musical influence. Then it was Yes. I had about eight albums on cassette of Queen. Man I love them!

I'm only 30 but I've been listening to Queen since 1991, right before Freddy died. They were my first musical influence. Then it was Yes. I had about eight albums on cassette of Queen. Man I love them!

Hats off to you AJ. I also listened to my first Queen album in 91 and haven't looked back. Zeppelin, The Beatles, Floyd are often mentioned when discussing legendary British bands, but i think Queen deserve to be shoulder to shoulder up there with the best of them.

Matt

I agree; Queen are one of the very best groups Britain has ever produced.

I've always been a Brian May fan since I first heard them on the radio playing "Seven Seas of Rye". That would be about the same time that the clip was recorded.

They then had an "Old Grey Whistle Test" Television Special; One hour of them in concert. Marvellous stuff.

I still don't understand the way BM constructs his phrasing - that's just one thing that formal training would help (I'm pretty sure Matt 'gets' his way of thinking).

I think I'm correct in saying he was a trained pianist and thinks out parts as if he were playing on a keyboard rather than a guitar-neck.

John Deacon is a great bassist into the bargain.

What's not to like?

P.

P.S. Love the snap in the sig, Matt! I really wish I could have been able to attend the 'Paul-fest' myself...

Without wanting to play "Top Trumps", I was there!!!!

At least, I went to The Rainbow in '74 and saw them (so I'm assuming it's the same show, but can't remember if it was March).

It was my first gig - my brother was in Uni in London at the time and I went with him.

I just remember being blown away by them - and still regularly listen to their first 3 albums (less often A Night At The Opera).