Gibson Brands Forums

In praise of the EJ-160-E John Lennon

bonzoboy

About the only downside to having 30 stringed instruments is that you don't get to play them all as often as you should or would like to.Today I took out my EJ-160-E for the first time in about 3 months and have decided that I'll keep it out for at least a few weeks.I started playing I'll Be Back and I Feel Fine by the Beatles and got the same old goosebumps that I got the first time that I played her.If you want to nail the old Beatle acoustic tone that's as far as you need to go as the EJ-160-E nails the tone of the original both acoustically and electrically.I had forgotten what a fabulous guitar it truly is-so it will be a long while before she sees the case again.

I have a cheap copy which sounds excellent

So arguably I am having even more fun <_<

V

:-({|=

Versatile, is yours the Vintage copy? Was going to get one of those then spotted a second hand EJ160e locally and the fella knocked £100 off the price...I love it - only play it acoustically really - lovely woody and natural sound - love the big neck as well and shallow I know but it looks so good as well! I have Phosphor Bronze strings on mine (11s) at the minute - sounds nice!

Versatile, is yours the Vintage copy? Was going to get one of those then spotted a second hand EJ160e locally and the fella knocked £100 off the price...I love it - only play it acoustically really - lovely woody and natural sound - love the big neck as well and shallow I know but it looks so good as well! I have Phosphor Bronze strings on mine (11s) at the minute - sounds nice!

Hi Dodge...yes mine is the Vintage

It sounds great acoustically and feels well built and usable

I restrung with electric nickel 10's to suit fingerstyle

Currently capo 7th fret for Norwegian Wood and Here Comes the Sun

And capo 5th fret for REM's Losing my Religion

I've always preferred magnetic P/U's over piezos on acoustics