Gibson Brands Forums

1984-85 Explorer

carv3r

Here is my go to.

i have been playing this guitar for 17 years.. and have loved it ever since the beginning.

In this picture its all stock with the old original dirty fingers p ups in there.. those have been swapped out for some dimarzio sd's love the sound but thinking about changin over to a less high out put p up

i love the kahler. those rollers will treat you well if you keep them clean.

i love to play this guitar. the ebony board and the way it sits have kept me coming back to it no matter how many strats or lespauls i end up with this is the guitar i always reach for.

HPIM1829.jpg

Hey there, welcome to the forums. That is a killer Explorer. My favorite thing is how you've worn through the finish by the bridge pup from playing it so much. I have a spot like that on the neck of my SG. Good stuff. [thumbup]

i love this guitar man. we almost share the same birthdate, off by 1 year a few months and 9 days hahaha.

the wear on it is something i didnt even really notice.. hard to think that but its true. one day you just notice that you wore a hole in the finish. hehe the back has a huge spot from buckle rash.. as ive had thins gutiar for 17 years its seen my stupid large belt buckle phaze.. haha also where the arm rests its almost concaved now and super comfortable. i tried a new exp a little while ago and thats when i noticed the difference.

awesome guitars that stand the test of time.

love that ebony fret board.

Great guitar man!

I've got a '85 White Explorer with tailpiece. She turned to a nice yellow and i love that colour but, to be onest, i really prefear it in black. Yours is amazing!

Mine has been hardly played from the previous owners and the finish on the neck in some place il visibly thinner and more white.

Can i ask what kind of wood is your Explorer made of (body, neck and board)?

Thanks in advance :)

sure thing!

Alder body , Maple Neck, Ebony board.