Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Labor History

Unionman

I'm studying labor law and as a Gibson collector, I've been interested in the labor history of the company, as well as that of other musical instrument companies. At Fender for example, I've read accounts of working conditions being rather hazardous prior to their purchase by CBS (open vats of toxic chemicals, etc.). I know that the CBS years are not looked upon favourably by collectors, although I played many CBS-era Fenders with no problems whatsoever, it does seem that it was better-run in some respects than prior to 1965.

At Gibson, my research has informed me that Stan Rendell busted the union there (this is from the Walter Carter book as well as many articles in which he complains about negotiating with the work force) and of course moving production from a labor rights state to a state where labor has less power means lower wages and thus costs. I haven't located much information on the workforce prior to the 1960s yet.

I've tried many Gibsons from different eras and they have all been superb. I have two Gibsons from the 1970s in my collection and they are just as good as my '96 Les Paul and '95 Flying V.

As Gibson collectors, have any of you had any discussions with Gibson employees from the past on this topic?

... I haven't located much information on the workforce prior to the 1960s yet........have any of you had any discussions with Gibson employees from the past on this topic?

The only thing can offer is taken from Gil Hembree's book on Ted McCarty's time as CEO of Gibson - 'Gibson Guitars : Ted McCarty's Golden Era 1948 - 1966'.