Gibson Brands Forums

Mid 90's 335's

TinyBabyBrandon

Hey guys,

I saw a pretty nice 335 for a decent price, but it was a mid 90's model. Not that that even necessitates a "but" per se, but I am not is a position where I can play it and I was just wondering if these years are generally looked upon with favor in the eyes of my fellow gibbaholics. Obviously it's not Norlin era and all the negativity that goes with that time period, but I never hear much one way or the other on 90's guitars. Anyone have an ES from the mid 90's and what is the quality and feel like compared to the ones that are getting cranked out nowadays? One thing I know that is different is the custom shop designations the 335's get currently. I'm pretty sure that was not part of the deal back in the glorious 90's. Anyway, any info, experience or opinions would be VERY welcome. Thanks again guys!

I have no direct experience with 335's from the 90's--I have newer and older ones--but I have not heard anything bad about that period in general. What version is it, and which shop was it built in (it's on the label)?

When I was looking, I was surprised to find that the 335 depreciated very quickly, then flattened out completely in price, so that a 1995 and a 2005 cost virtually the same thing. Much will depend on condition and play wear when it comes to determining value, as much as the year built.

In my experience, each ES 335 needs to be taken on a case-by-case basis, particularly with Memphis instruments.

Hey Nick,