Gibson Brands Forums

Setting Intonation and Sour Sounding Chords

KungPaoDog

Hi all. I just got a new Dot and I need some help with the set up. I'm new to guitars but I've been playing electric bass for 15 years, and I've done the set up on all six of my basses. They play well and have no problems sounding in tune. I also have a Fender acoustic guitar that sounds good with all chords.

The big problem is that some chords, especially D and F, sound really sour on my Dot. I set the intonation on my Dot to sound the exact same note at the 12th fret and the harmonic over the 12th fret. Very slight up-bow in the neck. The action is pretty low; much lower and I get fret buzz if strumming hard. The one thing I haven't done is measure the depth of the slots in the nut, but they seem to be reasonable to the eye.

I'm very open to the possibility that I am doing something wrong such as poor technique or wrong set-up. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated before I pay the shop to do a set-up. I know I can do this my self!

KPD,

Welcome to the forum....pics a must.

What is your neck relief actually set at? How old are the strings and what gauge?

Willy

Yeah, I know it doesn't exist without pics [wink]

Strings are a new set of Ernie Ball Regular Slinkys (10s). Neck relief is about 0.012" measured with feeler gauges at the 7th fret while holding down 1st fret with a capo and the last fret by hand.

Your setup sounds spot on.

Does the dot have tall frets? If so you may be pressing down with different pressure with your fingers, putting one or two of the strings out of tune with the others.

(I know, because I have the tendency to do this all of the time. I have to make a conscious effort to not press the strings out of tune).