Gibson Brands Forums

Upgrading my Wilshire

altair

Hey Epifans,

I still have my first guitar, which is an older Epiphone Wilshire reissue. The one with the fullsize Alnico humbuckers. See my profile picture [biggrin]

It was a budget guitar and I've been having great fun playing it. But now it's beginning to deteriorate. The pots are unstable, knobs come off, the jack is wobbly, and its tone is turning into a tin can full of angry bees.

So it's time to get her back to her former glory, and beyond!

I've done some searching and researching and I've come up with a couple of replacements. Since I'm new at guitar modding, can you please help me by looking over my list? Have I chosen the correct components, technically? Have I missed something? Do you think they will fit into a Wilshire body? How easy/difficult will it be for a novice to install these components? I must say, all the Wilshire components are attached to the pickguard so it's relatively easy to reach/wire. I think.

1x Göldo Trim Socket J002B BK

2x Gibson Poti 300kO Linear Taper Short (volume pots)

2x Gibson Pot 500kO Short (tone pots)

1x Gibson Toggle Switch Angle

1x Seymour Duncan SSH-JB Hot Rodded Humbucker Set (bridge + neck)

I chose the JB's because I'd like more distortion and sustain from this guitar, without having to go to active pups.

I'll be playing it through a Laney VC30 which doesn't have high gain distortion (but a gorgeous bluesy growl and clean bells to die for, hehe). The JB's are also affordable, €125 for the set.

So thanks in advance for your help, its highly appreciated!

What about something like this, push pull pots will allow you to coil split the pickups, so if you really wanted to you could have single coils too, best of both worlds [biggrin]

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LES-PAUL-500k-complete-LP-GUITAR-wiring-kit-premium-FULL-PUSH-PULL-pots-/330732171292?pt=UK_Guitar_Accessories&hash=item4d012c701c

Or just go for something like this, a standard wiring kit