Gibson Brands Forums

Fully compensated Bridge for J-45 & Dove

Thanks for reading. I'm interested in feedback on swapping out my stock saddles on the Gibson Dove & J-45 Custom. Anyone have any great results or shortcomings by doing this? If so what did you notice & use?

Thanks!!

Aster

What are your 'stock saddles' like at this point? I am not sure if you are looking for bone (straight) or compensated?

I am sure some minor differences could be achieved with some proper changes... [thumbup]

Okay....Duhhh! I see that you are looking for the compensated saddle by the title...I have no experience with them, so I will shut-up.... [biggrin]

Okay....Duhhh! I see that you are looking for the compensated saddle by the title...I have no experience with them, so I will shut-up.... [biggrin]

Well don't do that!!! You're the only one that has wanted to answer anything. Was thinking I was on the "black list" or something!! [unsure]

Just didn't know if the compensated saddles really fix the intonation and if so what's the cost in sound if any?

Thanks anyway Rod. Are you just running the stock bone saddles with or without the B string cut?

Aster

Yep, just stock saddles. All are old. I can,t see why a compensated bone saddle would hurt tone though? I do,however, think a good bone nut makes a huge and positive difference in tone from my experience.

What years are the guitars that you are considering?

RRod

The Dove & J-45 Custom were made in spring 2011 Gibson Montana. Love them both. Got my heart set on a Hummingbird someday too. I may get a Bone or Tusq. saddle for my Fuller J-160E '62 Reissue sometime too. Would like a Ceramic for that extra Beatles sound. But all I've seen are ratty looking quality & $80. Would pay the $80 but not for fractured looking parts. [thumbdn]

Rod, you've got more real Vintage stuff don't you? I get mixed up easy who has what.

Aster

• 1 month later...
  • 4 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...