Gibson Brands Forums

epiphone es 355 modification.

liam dowling

hi, im new to this, never bin on a forum before.

i thought this would be a good place to come for this, im wanting to do my epi 355 up as a bit of a project.

what i want to do is buy the very best stuff i can for it, top quality gear. thing is even though ive been playing for a while i dont really know about guitars as far as whats good or not or how to work on them. ive already stripped the guitar, everything is off it from the tuners to the pick ups and all the wiring.

so, now what im hoping for is advice on what to replace all that with.

my question is, if money were no object, what would you buy for it to make it the best it can be?.

not 100% on how it all works here so if anyone gets back to me, thanks in advance. i dont know anyone else who plays the guitar so i never have anyone to ask for help or advice, so thanks.

Can't help with all of it and since everyone likes what they like, you're going to get a ton of different recommendations but for pickups I like Gibson Classic 57 and 57 plus.

Welcome btw........

From Gibson:

’57 Classic and ’57 Classic Plus

The ’57 Classic (the pickup of choice for Mastodon’s Bill Kelliher) is designed to embody the character of the legendary “Patent Applied For” humbucker of the 1950s. Made to the exact specs, including Alnico II magnets and 42-gauge wire, the ’57 Classic has a balanced response and great dynamics whether you play clean or dirty. It’s also available with four-conductor wiring which allows you to wire it for series, parallel or split coil sounds, while its angry big brother, the ’57 Classic Plus, knocks it up a notch with slightly overwound coils designed in the spirit of the occasional accidentally-overwound original unit from the ’50s. The ’57 Classic Plus works particularly well in the bridge position when paired with the regular ’57 Classic in the neck.