Gibson Brands Forums

Noob to epiphone

Edb

Just thought I'd say "Hi" and give Epiphone a cyber pat on the back for a job well done.

Last week I bought an EJ200-CE and I absolutely love it, its a new model so it has the solid top and Sonic'e pickups and plays really well, better than I can do it justice at the moment.

My only gripe is the action is a bit high, whilst I was researching the guitar before pulling the trigger I noticed the most common gripe was the need for another setup, is this just confined to EJ200ce's or is a high relief "just the way it is "

Hey, Welcome to this site. I'm a relative newbie to the git, but have learned a lot of good stuff here. As far as a setup, I have found that one setup is not right for everyone. I had my older PR350E in for a refret/saddle "job". The best thing for the git and ME was that the tech made me play the git while he watched. He watched my technique (or lack of) then took the git to "tweek" the setup for my lack of technique. It was a totally different playing instrument. Since that experience, I would take any new guitar to this tech for a setup check and possible "tweeking". I don't think there is a universal setup that will work for every player "out of the box". Just my 2-cents worth. Keep It Fun, Dean.

If your action is too high after tweaking the truss rod, you should look into a set up. This will vastly improve the action and tone. And yes, most high end guitars need set ups. All of mine did, and I owned 27 over the years...but down to 6 now. Good luck. Proper set up and good humidity levels will ensure a life time of playing. Skimp on the humidity on your new SOLID top and you will be in trouble fast. Humidity needs to be about 47% to 50% inside the case, and preferably as close to that as possible in a dry winter heated room.

Some good advice there, thank you.