Gibson Brands Forums

Buying an SG Standard to my son

Not a musician

Ok, my son has been playing for some time (used squire). Since he is a huge Angus Young fan, I want to treat him with an SG For Bday and X-mas. I want to buy it for him while in a business trip to the USA (Boston). Reading this forum, it became obvious that simply ordering online is not such a good idea (trust your ears, right?). So, here is the catch: I am not a musician and I cant take him to the store. So, here is the challange: what should I check and look for (or avoid) on an SG Standard T?

After reading this (and a few other forums), I came to the conclusion that great guitars are like great Wines. Each year is different from the other and each bottle from a same year is different from the other. Some bottles are spoiled by the way they were handled, transported and/or stored. So, with wine, the trick is knowing how to choose between two bottles WITH OUT DRINKING IT. This is kind of what I am asking you guys to help me with....

HI: Since you are NOT a Musician, there is really nothing to watch out for with a Gibson SG. You certainly can order online safely through "Guitar Center" as I did (I already had an SG and others, so I ordered mine from one of their stores and they shipped it to me 100 miles away). They ship the guitar from their distribution center in Kansas City and deliver it to your residence, still in the brown sealed box from the Gibson factory..

Ohh that's a tough one...

Its kind of like trying to pick out cloths for someone.. Its such a personal thing... you would have to know their exact size and taste to get it right.

The thing is, just because someone is a fan of a guitarist, doesn't necessarily mean they like the guitar they play, or more importantly that it will match their personal preference....