Gibson Brands Forums

Wildkat vs. Les Paul Standard

mpe3us

I have played guitar in a half year and currently own a cheap Fender Squier. I have decided it's time for an upgrade and I have been looking at two guitars:

The Wildkat (link) and the Les Paul Standard (link).

I'm in love with the Wildkat and a semi-hollow guitar seems really interesting, but I got a feeling that the Les Paul Standard would be better for me as I'm still a beginner and it would cover

a larger range of music genres.

So my question is, which guitar do you guys think I should get?

tl;dr

Should I get the Wildkat or the Les Paul Standard?

WILDKAT WILDKAT WILDKAT!!!

Ok, now for the more subtle approach. What sort of music do you play (or intend to play)? I have a Wildkat and I can tell you it works well for everything from jazz to blues to 60's surf. Not so good for metal (which suits me just fine). It's a semi-hollow but it's routed which means very little issue with feedback because it doesn't have the volume of a larger capped body. Obviously the Wildkat is the more exotic looking too - every man and his dog has a Les Paul (not that there's anything wrong with that...).

Have you played both? Which felt and sounded better to you? You'd probably be happy either way, but I really would recommend the Wildkat.

I'll second Sada's comments. I have a Wildkat and a Gibby LP. I'd recommend you try to play both if you can because ergonomically, they're somewhat different, and the LP weighs about 2-3 pounds more. Also, the Kat has P90's and the LP has Humbuckers, so you'll get a bit of a different sound as well. And the Kat has a Bigsby, the LP doesn't.

The Wildkat is a very versatile guitar, capable of some great sounds, not that the LP isn't, but personally, if I had to pick only one of the two, I'd go with the Wildkat.

WILDKAT WILDKAT WILDKAT!!!