Gibson Brands Forums

Need help dating a 60's Gibson J-50

twelvefretter

Greetings I'am a newbie here...I first bought this as a '62 as that's what the serial # indicated. I had the guitar refretted and modified the bridge.The original adjustable bridge was lifting so I had the Luthier remove the adjustable part insert a piece of matching rosewood and cut a slot for a bone saddle. The guitar turned out great,played and sounded awsome. Long story short,I just don't get alomg with the narrow nut width.I Put it up for sale and started getting comments like (nice looking guitar but it's not a '62) After doing reserch I find s/n numbers are not a good way to date 60's Gibson's. A lot of nice people chimed in and offered thier opinions on the year mostly between 65 and 69. So I thought I would try here on the Gibson forum and get your learned opinions...Thanks to all

Narrow nut width 1&9/16

Bottom pic is original bridge.

serial # 53258 stamped on back of head stock..

Good example of a '65 J-50

DSC02525.jpg

DSC02527.jpg

DSC02541.jpg

DSC02544.jpg

DSC02524.jpg

DSC02530.jpg

Your 1962 estimation sounds and looks correct to me. Especially since it is a five digit serial#. Perhaps those that are saying it is later 60's are confused with the 6 digit 500*** series of numbers? It is a very nice-looking example.

I am curious if the fixed saddle bridge was a great improvement over the adjustable before it lifted? Any comments or description of the difference would be welcome. Thanks!

I love the pickguards on these [thumbup]

Rod

Your 1962 estimation sounds and looks correct to me. Especially since it is a five digit serial#. Perhaps those that are saying it is later 60's are confused with the 6 digit 500*** series of numbers? It is a very nice-looking example.

I am curious if the fixed saddle bridge was a great improvement over the adjustable before it lifted? Any comments or description of the difference would be welcome. Thanks!