Gibson Brands Forums

Has anyone seen this color Les Paul?

TravisMc

Hey guys - new to the forum, I really like it though. I'm active on reddit's /r/guitar as well.

So check it out, I'm new to guitar...and I wanted a Les Paul to learn on, I love the looks and it's a classic so I figured I couldn't go wrong.

So about a week ago I went to guitar center to pick up a Les Paul that reminded me of a 2005 Epi Dot I used to have....in blueburst/trans blue. I've always had a thing for blue guitars, they just speak to my heart.

I picked up the Les Paul PlusTop Pro - and it's a great guitar, however, when I got home I was looking at Epiphones site, and saw that you could get it in quilt top, see here:

http://www.epiphone.com/Products/Les-Paul/Les-Paul-Standard-Quilt-Top-PRO.aspx

Also, here is the PlusTop on Epi's site:

http://www.epiphone.com/Products/Les-Paul/Les-Paul-Standard-Plustop-PRO.aspx

they pretty much look the same color, except one is quilted, one is flamed, right?

So, I ordered a Quilt Top from Musicians Friend - being a limited edition you can't really find them in person anywhere.

Here's the problem...well, not so much a problem, but a hard choice. When it got delivered, I open it up and this is what I see:

http://imgur.com/xac4PJW,aBHW0ay (if that link doesn't work here is a direct link: http://i.imgur.com/xac4PJW.jpg)

They really aren't the same color at all. The PlusTop has MUCH more green in it, the Quilt Top is closer to a blue/gray than a blue/green. They aren't even close to the same color really. It's funny though, because blue/gray is my favorite color combination.

To be honest, I considered keeping it...but the split down the middle of the quilted top where the two peices of maple join isn't even, and there is some varnish on the edge of the fretboard.

Is that split in the top supposed to be on the centerline of the guitar? Is this a common issue with Epi's?

Has anyone seen this color "Trans Blue" before? Is it a one of a kind?