Gibson Brands Forums

2014 Traditional - too bright

Wiredin

I play in a hard rock/progressive rock band and I have been missing my Les Paul Standard hard since I sold it in 2011 for a PRS Custom 24. The problem I had with the Paul back then was the 12lb weight and the fact that no matter what pickups I shoved in it the guitar was muddy and mushy.

I had the opportunity due to a recent sale to pickup a beautiful Traditional LP 2014 in Manhattan Midnight. A color I lusted over back in 2008 when I bought my guitar, and I should have bought it, but wanted a '50's neck instead of the 60's neck, and I've regretted buying my Ice Tea ever since. Now I got my LP.

This one is lighter, around 8lbs, and for the most part sounds amazing. It has become my main guitar over throwing my PRS CU24, ES335, and RD Custom. Nothing else plays like it! I love it.

Now we get to the problem, the guitar is just too stinking bright. Brighter than my '52 Telecaster replica. The tone is near perfect, it's just fatiguing with how sharp the high end is on the bridge pickup. I could EQ it out, but then all my other guitars turn to mush. The neck pickup was solid when driven, but clean it was muddy and flubby.

Since I had a Dirty Finger a Burstbucker Pro 2 hanging around in a draw (came from my SG), so I threw those in. Now I'm on the other spectrum when it comes to the bridge. It's flubby, but it does have a nice low end push. No clarity at all. The neck pickup could still use a bit more top end.

Second problem, my other guitarist uses a Gibson LP BFG with an Invader a hot-stack P90. With my recent pickup change the two guitars sound very similar together and we end up fighting for the mix.

Putting the stock pickups back in, I cut through the mix like a knife, but way to sharply.

So I'm looking to change the pickups again.