Gibson Brands Forums

Choosing an amp for my Epiphone Dot

Dm225

Hi I just started playing recently and currently own an Epiphone Dot and some crappy hand me down Fender amp.

Well the next thing I need to upgrade is my amp and I know almost next to nothing about them. I'm looking to spend around $200 on a new one, I know I won't be able to get a very good one for that much but what's the amp that would best suit me if I was interested in playing classic rock and some blues with it?

Thanks in advance,

Ryan

For that price you might want to try the Epiphone Valve Junior. Its a great little amp (louder than you'd expect) and you get a nice, simple, class A tube amp for about 150$. Plus, if you're into modding and that kind of stuff, this amp is just begging to be taken apart and improved.

If the crappy hand me down Fender amp is one of those junk Princetons or useless Deluxe's, or maybe one of those Champs that nobody wants, I'll be happy to dispose of it for you.

Seriously if it's an old Fender tube amp take it to a tech for a tuneup and biasing and maybe new tubes and you'll be golden. Tube amps need to be turned up loud to sound right, so if you want bedroom volume practice levels you need a small solid state modeling amp with headphones, or maybe just a headphone amp like a Rockman.

If the crappy hand me down Fender amp is one of those junk Princetons or useless Deluxe's' date=' or maybe one of those Champs that nobody wants, I'll be happy to dispose of it for you.

Seriously if it's an old Fender tube amp take it to a tech for a tuneup and biasing and maybe new tubes and you'll be golden. Tube amps need to be turned up loud to sound right, so if you want bedroom volume practice levels you need a small solid state modeling amp with headphones, or maybe just a headphone amp like a Rockman.[/quote']

+1. I love my crappy old hand me down '71 Champ.

Not much budget there. The Epi is probably your best chice.

Best of luck.

Murph.