Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Melody Makers (single cutaway)

VintageMM

Hello

I find myself increasingly drawn to Gibson Melody Makers but there have been many variants over the years. Can anybody recommend a definitive resource on Melody Maker history? The Wikipedia entry is pretty good but doesn't say much for the quality of the various iterations.

I'm exclusively interested in single cutaway models as that body shape just floats my boat.

As far as modern Melody Makers go the 2003-2006 model seems to be a sweet spot with the additional Tune-o-matic bridge and dog-eared P90. Any advance on that?

I know very little about vintage Melody Makers in particular. As they were always budget instruments to some degree I imagine one has to be cautious. I have a '65 Fender Musicmaster II and whilst it has a gorgeous neck I'd say the electrics and body are pretty much consistent with its origins as a student model.

Of the vintage Melody Makers which represent good value for money? As a players instrument, not an investment instrument. Are vintage Melody Makers even worth conisdering, do they have any voodoo/mojo or are they sadly just old, budget instruments that haven't weathered well through the years?

Finally, how are the Melody Makers related to the Les Paul Jrs? They certainly have cosmetic similarities.

Thanks

Jim

Can anybody recommend a definitive resource on Melody Maker history?

Not really but this site is always a help: http://www.guitarhq.com/gibson5.html#melody

Of the vintage Melody Makers which represent good value for money?