Gibson Brands Forums

Have a Blackhawk CST3 1998

Dibby

This the first Blackhawk I have seen. It looks to be a Black version of the Nighthawk, which in good condition sell from 900 to 1400, yours I think being a limited production could be in the higher end of that, but I am not an expert. The Hawk series had a few models, using this body shape, including the Hawk, Nighthawk, Blueshawk and Little Lucille. So to find info on it reference the Nighthawk, there are several members with Nighthawks frequenting the Gibson USA forum.

The last post I saw was about a Nighthawk with a Floyd Rose.

His Nighthawk below.

402731245_IMG_2635-Copy.thumb.jpg.9e05fc

Edited by mihcmac

@Dibby

You have a Nighthawk version SP3 (3 pickup special).  The case itself in good to great condition can fetch anywhere from $200 to even $350 I would imagine.  I've sold a pristine case for $350 and some with very slight cosmetic issues for around the $200 range.  Themselves they are rare these days. 

The guitar probably wouldn't fetch anywhere more than say $900 if it is in great condition.  You might get away with around a grand, but that's definitely got to be the upper limit. 

Mind you, this is based on someone who has done some buying and selling of Nighthawks.  It truly is a relative thing to sell/buy guitars these days.  It all depends on the right place at the right time. 

Overall, if the package was mine given the SP3 is in excellent condition and case looks great - no major tolex tears, strap intact that holds case lid from flying back when opened, and shroud not ripped out or torn apart - you're looking around $1100 to start IMHO.  That might be on the high end for some people, so be open to offers.  I wouldn't go any less than $1050 with the case.