Gibson Brands Forums

1980 Gibson Les Paul KM repair

I recently started playing again and was planning to clean up/restore my old Gibson Les Paul. I never really knew much about it, so I did a little research. Turns out it’s a 1980 KM model - apparently somewhat rare. It’s in playable shape, with some minor damage consisting of a crack by the toggle and the input jack jammed in after a strap broke. Also, the previous owner swapped out the original bridge. Other than that, it’s really just dirty.

My question is, how should I progress? Just visit a local luthier? Never having done that, is it straightforward, or do you get multiple opinions?

image.jpeg.5beb9d29b6174def3b7a59967f10a881.jpeg

Hello and welcome on here..  

Just before I get going I just have to say..  Its not dead, its just stunned   😄

But yes.. Find a reputable luthier let them look over it and they will tell you what your options are. With cracks in the guitar.. Well if they dont effect the playability or the stability of the guitar  then you dont really need to fix them.. Its an old guitar and thats what happens over time, honest play and wear and tear..  People pay good money to have brand new guitars beaten up to look old like that  🙂 

I think.  And someone can correct me on this that if its a 1980 thats still what they call the Norlin era.....  You can look that up. One of the things that I do know about LPs from then is that they are often very very heavy. Hard to really tell you much else from the picture.

Appreciate the welcome. Yeah, the thing weighs a freakin’ ton. Pretty sure the mafia tied these to bodies to sink them in the Hudson.