Gibson Brands Forums

Trad. Pro Plain Top Quilt?

GibSinCity

I was picking up some strings at the local GC the other day, and of course had to check out the Gibson section of the guitar wall.

I noticed a Trad. Pro in Heritage Cherry, that from one angle, looked like a regular plain Maple top. But from another angle, it appeared to have a slight Quilt to it.

This made me wonder...

As a guitar like this ages, will the plain-top's "Quilt" become more, or less noticeable?

Or will age and fading have no effect at all?

wood grain becomes more noticable depending what angle you look at it, lay your guitar flat on the bed or something similar and walk around it or slowly crouch down while looking at the guitar and you'l notice that the grain and venear change in front of your eyes, i'm a reproduction furniture polisher by trade so i know about these things [biggrin]

Thanks guys.

Yeah, I understand that Flame and Quilt are in the grain of the wood and won't change with age.

I was wondering how an aging top might affect a guitar with just a VERY SLIGHT Quilt or Flame.

How the shine and depth of a new top might enhance the ability to see the character of the grain now, and weather over time as the top ages, the amount of it might appear to change. Will the angles at which you can see the Quilt be the only thing that changes as the finish ages.

I wonder how this top looked before the finish went on, and how evident that very slight Quilt was then.

Did it look the same but with no finish? Was it more, or less noticeable?

I would think that the clear finish, the amount of finish, the paint, the amount of, and even the color of paint must have some affect, but how much?

By the way, was that Trad. Pro in El Cerrito a Heritage Cherry, or a Vintage?

I think a Vintage Burst with a AA top would look pretty cool.

By the way' date=' was that Trad. Pro in El Cerrito a Heritage Cherry, or a Vintage?

I think a Vintage Burst with a AA top would look pretty cool.[/quote']