Gibson Brands Forums

Norlin 355

Andre S

The only things I can think of are the Headstock volute and the witchhat knobs (versus the tophats). I own or have owned two Norlin era Gibsons, an LP Standard and an ES-335. They were/are both very fine instruments (I still have the LP). I also own or have owned three pre-Norlin Gibsons, and two "Henry" era Gibsons. I have been playing ES models since about 1980, and love the design, versatility, playability, tone, and just about everything about the Gibson ES thinlines.

The general design of the 355 body/neck/hardware/electronics has not changed since the guitar went stereo with vibrola. As was/is normal with Gibson high-end guitars, you're never quite sure what tuners your going to get, the guitars might get fitted with Kluson, Grover or Schaller, probably whatever gold ones they had in stock at the time. The pickups also changed over time to whatever the "current" model humbucker was. During the mid/late sixties and seventies there were no "options" in Gibson humbuckers, there were no "Classic 57's", or "Burstbuckers", etc. A Gibson humbucker was a Gibson humbucker.