Gibson Brands Forums

Learning to Play Help

Poppy

I hope that someone here will give me some advice, as I do not have anyone else to talk to about learning to play.

I am in my 50’s and I am just starting to learn how to play. My routine (about 5 times a week) is to start by playing the scales, major, minor, and pentatonic in different patterns up and down the neck using a metronome. Starting at a slow speed, increasing the speed to the point where I can still play each note clean and clear. I do this for about 15 to 20 minutes straight.

I then move onto playing all the chords I know for about 15 minutes, and then try to learn new cords.

Then I try to learn to play different songs from Tabs, mostly just different parts of the songs. There is one song that I am trying to play from beginning to end. “Mood for a Day,” Steve Howe, Yes. I know it is played on an acoustic, but I am playing it on my LP. I think this song offers a lot of stuff to learn.

The Question:

I do not plan to play in a band or in public, but I really want to play a lot of songs. So, should I keep my routine or just learn to play song from tabs? I have been doing this for about two months and if my estimate is right, it will take me about a year, at this pace to pick up my guitar and just play with little thought about it.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Should I keep my routine or just learn to play song from tabs? I have been doing this for about two months and if my estimate is right' date=' it will take me about a year, at this pace to pick up my guitar and just play with little thought about it. [/quote']

I think that, certainly for now, your routine could hardly be improved, but remember to play stuff that gives you fun. If you aren't enjoying the playing you will soon get fed up.

If I may quote Les Paul;

"Super players (only got that way) after many years of hard work.

1). Be Patient.

2). Learn one thing at a time.