Gibson Brands Forums

Couple of pics of my old J-50

Azazello

Can't remember if I posted these before, but I was just looking at them and thought it wouldn't hurt to maybe post em again. 1957, new bridge, Grovers, undersaddle transducer. I won't brag about the sound and feel except to say my luthier called it "the last of the great ones." It's a bit worn.

I got it in 1987 in a pawn shop. At that time, it had already had the original pickguard crudely torn off, had a Martin style pickguard crudely glued on, and then had the Martin pickguard crudely torn off. Most of the wood erosion has come since I started playing it. I'm a lighter touch now so she'll last another generation at least. Recent tune up and preservation; these photos are before. The stuff that was done, repairing a lower bout jack hole, dressing the back and sides, and some nearly invisible magic coating of some kind on the destroyed bits won't show in a compare and contrast, but it's in much finer fettle now and already coaxing out new songs.

IMG_0005.jpg

Detail.

IMG_0003.jpg

I'e got several others, and am always looking. But nothing else will do what this does for me.

I'm getting verklempt.

Put a pickguard on that thing !

I've got a 57 J-50 myself. It was in worse shape. The top was separated form the guitar and broken in places. The guys at Flynn Brothers in Evanston resurrected it. I bought it from them.

It's my Numero Uno.

Sorry to tell you this but that's not a 57, maybe 67 but not 57. A 57 would have a single rosette.

Where is the serial number, on the back of the headstock or inside on the neck block ?

If it's on the neckblock then maybe you have a Country Western body with a J45/J50 fingerboard.

My guess is a 62 or 63 because of the damage from the pickguard removal. A 64 would have an over the finish pickguard which wouldn't have caused all of that tear out.

That ripped off pickguard looks terrible. It may be "mojo" to some but its just ugly to me.

To each his own.