Gibson Brands Forums

Help with wiring?

TheMightySpud

Hi all,

Firstly, I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the correct place, if not I sincerely apologise.

Secondly, I'm very new to this whole thing, so please be nice LOL.

On to business.....

I got it into my head to built an LP from scratch, but as I am very new, I thought a good idea would be to buy a kit and built that one first to make sure I could actually manage it.

I received the kit yesterday but the instructions in regard to the wiring aren't very clear. The text doesn't explain it very well at all, and the image below is what they have provided. It's generally easy to follow except for where to connect the transistors to, and the text portion of the instructions makes no mention of them at all.

instr01.jpg

Now, I did some looking around and found some LP wiring diagrams, and the image below is easy to follow but doesn't match the wiring in the diagram that is within the instructions, so now I'm thoroughly confused.

wiringModern.jpg

Also, in the second image, there seems to be one 'pin' of each tumbler soldered onto the main body of itself, am I seeing that correctly?

If someone could point me in the right direction as to the 'correct' wiring, I would be eternally grateful. There's no great rush as I haven't really decided on a colour scheme as yet.

Thanks in advance

TheMightySpud

I need to get a grip on your terminology.

You wrote these two things and I don't know what you mean:

"It's generally easy to follow except for where to connect the transistors to,"

"there seems to be one 'pin' of each tumbler soldered onto the main body of itself, am I seeing that correctly?"

My guess is the "transistor" is the capactor? Probably an orange disc with two wires?

And the "tumbler" is the potentiometer - pot for short?

Oh and welcome to the forum Mighty Potato

Oops, told you I was new at all this LOL.