Gibson Brands Forums

Anyone lose a Hummingbird pickguard?

zarkus

Greetings all,

I'm trying to track down any available info on a guitar that I "inherited" from a relative. I've been getting some helpful input on the Epiphone forum, and one of its members suggested I try here as well. Thus far, I've learned that this is a 1961 natural Frontier (F110) and its supposed to have a cactus and rope pickguard. Here's what it looks like...

epi-01.jpg

epi-03.jpg

So how likely do you think it is that Gibson switched out the pickguard at the factory? Although I'm no techie or collector, I think it'd look fairly obvious if they had been switched later by one of its owners because of the shape of the hummingbird guard versus the cactus and rope guard.

Any thoughts, reactions, advice, etc. are greatly appreciated re' the pickguard or anything else about the guitar.

Thanks

I think you should send it to me for a much closer inspection. I'll get back to within at least 10 years....

Anyway can you see any body color changes through the pickguard? It looks like something going on just under the bird on the guard. Maybe take some pictures up close with your camera set on macro for a closer look and the guard and the bridge?

I can see how you got your name MeanStreak (just kidding). I will certainly inspect closer. The HB seems to have cutaways and scallops that would expose portions of the surface that would have been covered by the Epi guard. It seems "smaller" and covers less of the front than the stock guard. But it is what it is. Just hoping that some folks here that have seen many more guitars than I might have come across a similar situation.

I was perusing these Epi catalogs:

http://www.vintageguitars.org.uk/catalogues.php

and the 1961 catalog shows the Frontier has the flat bottomed Epi guard. The fancier Hummingbird-like guard with ropes and such is shown on the 1962 catalog.