Gibson Brands Forums

Early PAF humbuckers; This good?

MrRoundel

Seriously, can these pickups really be this good? I mean, for the type of price that this thing is going for, wouldn't somebody else be able to make an EXACT duplicate an and supply 10 of them? [biggrin][cool]

While it probably has mostly to do with someone doing a big $ restoration, it still seems to be over the top. But I'm new to this Gibson stuff. Perhaps the Debeers family is working their way into the guitar business?

Early Humbucker

Personally I think you could have a pickup custom made and delivered to you on a satin cushion that would sound as good and cost a lot less. It all depends how important it is to someone to have a completely original pickup. Of course Blackie is right there is a market for this stuff and always will be, but I think for me personally I would not benefit from owning that pickup and could buy another guitar for less money and still have some money left over to give to charity.

I am sure they sound good but I know that they can be replicated... They are only really worth so much because of their collectability and if you own a vintage les paul and you don't have the original pickups, you would need to buy some to complete the guitar...

I am not convinced they have some magic sound that cannot be replicated... [cool]