Gibson Brands Forums

Suggestions for Electronics in a new Custom Shop SJ-200 TV?

Mana

I'm a newbie - ready to take the plunge and special order a Custom Shop SJ-200 TV . . .it's taken me awhile but much thanks through this forum to Fred and Jack for their sound opinions! I believe I only have one question left for you Forum members who, like me, can't always mic your guitars and occasionally need to (hate to do it but) use onboard electronics. I would appreciate the benefit of anyone's experience whose gone/going down this path - I'm not sure yet what options Gibson offers as to pick-ups available as factory installations . . .

Comments . . . I just don't want to lose any of that great Gibson tone . . . Thanks!

Hi Mana....

I have been very happy with the K & K Mini Western Pickups that are installed in both of my Gibson guitars. They are a passive pickup so no battery is needed inside the guitar. I have a LR Baggs PARA DI box that can be used as an external pre-amp, but with the K & K Mini's, I rarely need to boost the signal. They are wonderful little pickups that do not color the tone, are fairly easy to install (I had a luthier do it both times) and not expensive. The total cost for the pickup and install has been less than $200 each time.

Good for you! A custom ordered 200 ought to be a very fine instrument indeed!

Though I am not a fan of onboard electronics of any kind, I will say that the K&K PWM mentioned above is among the best available and is, save the endpin jack, an invisible install. It's sound is very, very good and it requires no power source. Being a sound board transducer it is subject to feedback in high volume situations, but a soundhole feedback buster silences all of that. Very, very acoustic in tone, this one is hard to beat for a non-intrusive onboard system. Highly recommended by myself and many others on the forum!

Good for you! A custom ordered 200 ought to be a very fine instrument indeed!