Gibson Brands Forums

VJ h V-Mods?

eadgber

I'm a newbie & just got A barely used V2h w/ no mods.Awhile back before I even got the amp I ordered a "V-Mods" kit because it seemed like a good price & I knew I'd be getting a VJ.

The V-Mods kit is: A standby switch ,A Gain switch & Bright switch.

The Gain switch instructions: Solder the switch's wires to both sides of R6.

The Bright switch instructions: Solder the switch's wires to both sides of R2.

Any body think I should not do this? I been reading up and thinking maybe not because I might want more of a tone control type mod.Not sure just by-passing these resistors is that great of an idea now.

I will be ordering the better OT and new tubes and doing the Stand-by switch (which I guess the one I have is like any other).Other than those three things I'm not sure where I'm going from there.

I never tried switching at R2 for brightness. usually people leave that fixed, so far as I know.

but that would be an easy way to do it, I guess. (10K to 30K seems the modders preference)

standby switch is still argued by some.. but overall most people have them.

typically people switch R6 and R7 to 100K and leave them fixed.

Or put R7 on a 500K or 1M pot for gain control.

I have gain on R7. standby, tone control and loop d jr and for me, except for nfb, that's about all you need.

I tried a few different bright switch mods and in the end thought they were a waste of time, esp after I added the tone control.

Bias, tube protectrion *like SGR*, those things will tune the amp for tone and protect it.. so, get your OT in.. and then tweak for tone.

If you have your heaters, for example, above spec, you'll only have your sound until the tube fries..

TWANG