Gibson Brands Forums

New pickups for epi Black Beauty

jeffrey92

After confirming the authenticity of my guitar, it has dawned on me that I should get some new pickups. The sound I'm looking for is rock, hard rock, and nu rock/metal. Like, with the distortion, but not a really crunchy metal, a little more smooth. I guess it would be preferable that the pickups are golden cause of the theme of gold hardware, but the sound is more important. so ya anything thats good for low tones and rhythm but can also do lead.

I guess what I've laid out is pretty broad, but hopefully you guys can point me in the right direction. I've heard a lot of people go for the gibson custom '57's, but should I go for something hotter? Should I get two '57's, one for the bridge and then the neck? my friend has his epi lp with emg's (81 or 85 I think but not sure) and I like the sound of those, but they don't come in gold I don't think.

as you can probably tell I'm not an expert on pickups or electric guitars in general, so hopefully I can get some pointers.

Money is someone a factor, but not really, I want this baby to sound nice !

ps. perhaps I can get gold cases for the emgs somehow (not sure if its possible)? also, I know the emgs are probably pretty hot, but if they have better tonal quality thats whats important cause I can just turn down the distortion. finally, what should I do about that middle pickup? I don't mind it being there and it looks cool, but would it be a good idea to get the guitar fixed up so that the middle pickup has its own knob?

If thats a 3 pickup black beauty then youre gonna spend a bit of coin on 3 replacements.

Id actually get the Duncan Distortion Set and keep the middle pickup Epi. Dont let the Distortion name fool you it is versatile and does so much more than just gain. You could also get the Duncan 59 set but may not be hot enough for some Metal players. They are very articulate pickups IMO.