Gibson Brands Forums

Bitmo voicing /gain switch question ???

I am installing the Bitmo voicing/gain switch in my V-JR. version3.I want to know which nib next to the preamp tube socket I should solder the wire from the caps to,as they are not labled.The one closest to the socket?Also the wire between the caps- Should it be soldered to the middle nib? This is my first time trying any mods so any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Mods tend to change a little from time to time, so you might want to consider sending an email to Bruce directly with questions qualified for BitMo tech support. He the one person most likely to know exactly what you're asking about.

Gil...

Thanks for the reply.I have contacted Bruce and he told me to wire the cap side of the switch the version2 way.I was having trouble getting to the solder points that way. I ended up taking the volume swich out for better access and was able to get it soldered. Fired it up and everything works fine. Sounds great! Next, the Hammond 125DSE.............

so maybe I wanna do the Hammond 125DSE too... my VJ has the Brite, Gain and Standby - is the transformer swap all I have to do or is it "more involved" than that. I bought mine "modded" already - I'm not really an electronics type although I do AC Electrical (110/220) stuff daily. Where's the info? And Let me know how it changes the sound...

Swapping the OT has been generally considered the easiest mod you can make to the VJr.

The Hammond OTs are more efficient than the stock OT, so voltage to the plate of the el84 will go up. Chances are, it's already too high. Add in the fact that the bias resistor is a little too low which causes the el84 to dissipate more power than it's spec'd for, it's no wonder those amps eat tubes the way they do.