Gibson Brands Forums

Which Elite/Elitist semi?

SemiSolid

Hi, a newbie here in need of a little advice if you'd be so kind.

I'm thinking of getting a new (new to me, at least!) Elite or Elitist semi-acoustic but I'm not sure which of the three main contenders, namely the Dot, Sheraton and Riviera, would suit me best. There are some areas which are making it difficult to decide, aside from the issue of not being able to try the guitars in person. These are:

1 How do the necks compare? I noticed that the Riviera's nut width is a little narrower than the other two but do they all have a similar profile?

2 Are the NY mini-humbuckers overtly bright? I like the fullness of normal humbuckers but sometimes wish I could get that ringing clarity of single-coils; however, I'd rather forsake that ringing clarity if it threatened to get harsh sounding.

3 Are there any problems with the various tailpieces? I read in one place about the trapeze type being 'noisy' but maybe it was someone trying to sell a guitar with a different type!

If there are any other points which you think I should take into consideration, please let me know. Thanks.

I think it's going to boil down to the pickups you prefer; you have to decide if you want the full humbucker tone or the mini-humbucker tone. Then it becomes a question of style, since the Sheraton is a much fancier guitar than the Riviera. Also there will be a tonal difference between the Riviera and the Sheraton since they each have a unique tailpiece; again, it'll be your decision whether to go for the stop or the trapeze.

All I can add is that I am very pleased with my Elitist Dot and if you were to decide to get one I can assure you that you will not be disappointed.

I think it's going to boil down to the pickups you prefer; you have to decide if you want the full humbucker tone or the mini-humbucker tone.