Gibson Brands Forums

New to Epiphone - can you help identify this LP?

MSS

Hello:

Nice forum! I am totally new to Epi's and happened to snag a deal on this one........seller described it as Sunburst but it sure looks Goldtop to me! I am assuming it's a standard.......where would I find serials and other clues to it's age etc etc? I would have rather have the pup covers but they don't seem to be on the guitar. Can they be bought anywhere? Thanks for any info and it is appreciated!

a443_20.JPG

a3bf_20.JPG

normal_a491_20.JPG

LP Standard Goldtop, you can get info on the serial number (from the back of the headstock) on guitardaterproject.org

If you want pup covers replace the pickups with something better (search "GFS"), it's not worth buying covers for those mediocre standard Epiphone pickups.

Thanks for the info Biff..........I am picking up the guitar later today so will be able to date it a little more accurately! I'll see what the pups sound like before I think about new ones. Are the tuners fairly decent on these models? I do dig the goldtop look..........

Mss.

Welcome to the forum.

Biff gave as much info as you can get without serial #.

And yes...the tuners should be just fine....unless you are a young person and want to paint little skulls on them.

No offense intended. I bought a guitar the othe day for my grandson...first thing he wanted to know was if we could silkscreen a skull on it.

I picked up the guitar today and noticed some slight buckle rash and was able to deal down a bit, so for $225 I think I got quite a deal! Actually a very nice guitar.......the neck is great! Will take some better pics later and post them. All in all, very happy for my very first LP guitar........