Gibson Brands Forums

Where are the Elitists on the Website?

PJ

Wow....what a disappointment. Nothing in the "sweet-spot" of the market. Either China or Memphis.

A big gap in product and price. Too bad. I think they were great guitars and I had my eye on a couple

of those models. Oh, well, I'll stick to my Teles, I suppose.

Wow....what a disappointment. Nothing in the "sweet-spot" of the market. Either China or Memphis.

A big gap in product and price. Too bad. I think they were great guitars and I had my eye on a couple

of those models. Oh' date=' well, I'll stick to my Teles, I suppose.[/quote']

Now that Epiphone has abandoned the high end market, I don't feel guilty about recommending Eastman or Heritage guitars. Don't count either of them out.

I'm a career Product Manager...maybe I should toss an application in the hat. Other than Prophecys

and A Gold Top with Slash's pickups in it, I've seen precious little new from Epiphone. Granted, I like

the Masterbuilts (even have one) and the old Bard in my Avatar, but I'd really like to see Epiphone

sustain a drive in the market, with some good, new guitars. They can even be old designs - kick-up

the Dot a little, make the SGs a little more feature-rich, do something like an Orville Les Paul. That's what I thought the Elitists were. Still, too bad they're gone.

Epiphone has an "image" problem...in that they have been perceived, for so long, as a "poor man's Gibson,"

or that "Cheap Asian" Gibson...that when they did introduce the "Elitist" line....at the time, it wasn't so far

removed, from the mid range Gibson. And, at those prices, people bought Gibson, for the name (as well as